Preaching To The Choir

Brian Dickens Barrabee
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readOct 26, 2020

--

Mrs. Kline was the youth choir director. When my mother and aunt told her they were going to enroll Kit and I in the choir she pretended she was happy. After all, my aunt was the superintendent of the whole Sunday school.

Photo by Harry Miller on Un splash

My mother taught Sunday school at the Oakhurst Methodist Church. My cousins Kit’s mother was the superintendent of Sunday school at the same church.

There was no way my cousin Kit and I were going to escape singing in the youth choir when we turned 8 years old.

Mrs Kline was the youth choir director. When my aunt and mother told Mrs. Kline they were going to enroll Kit and I in the choir she pretended she was happy. After all, my aunt was the superintendent of the whole Sunday school!

Choir practice was between 6:00 and 7:00 Wednesday evening. No one knew whether to eat dinner before or starve and eat after. I think they planned it that way to make the kids in the choir behave. The kids that had already eaten would be tired and quiet and the ones that hadn’t probably would be bribed by their mothers to, if there were no complaints by Mrs. Kline, maybe stop at McDonalds down the street because the rest of the family had already eaten.

Kit and I sang for Mrs. Kline that Wednesday. I think I did well — Kit, not so.

--

--

Brian Dickens Barrabee
ILLUMINATION

Very much involved with the world and likes nothing better than writing about its absurdities. Award winning author who guarantees a laugh or two a story.