Problems Of Close Proximity Living

Ryan Chilton
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readMar 14, 2022

--

📸 Ryan Chilton

I am living at the local homeless shelter where I am housed with 17 other individuals. That 17 doesn’t include working staff, just other homeless people.

In my case it’s different than most people because I am living with others that I do not know. This can cause unnecessary tension, so to relieve it I tell others my name and my regular schedule. Then they are more comfortable and won’t stir up unnecessary trouble.

Food can be scarcer than normal living with 17 others, but the local church helps to relieve that stress with food donations. This really helps us as we aren’t allowed to bring our own food, the fear being we may attract Roaches, other bugs, or rodents.

The kitchen, bathroom, dining room, and living room can accumulate more germs than usual. To help relieve this, we all take up chores as a condition of our stay in the shelter.

I have a good job, unlike most of the other homeless here, to help me get to a better situation. I’m working at a local factory where we produce transformers for power plants.

The others that don’t have jobs are under extra stress, so there can be a few more problems with them. The extra stress can cause them to want to fight, yell at others, be sloppy, be more agitated than normal, and over all be crappy.

--

--

Ryan Chilton
ILLUMINATION

Welcome To My Humble Abode 🎩. Here I discuss personal experiences, entrepreneur interests, personal motivation. Pull up a chair and stay a while 💫