Pursuing a Course Over Continuing My Job

Not-that-easy choice

Satrio Jagad
ILLUMINATION
3 min readNov 3, 2022

--

thinking about choices visualization
Photo by Na Inho on Unsplash

It happened to me early this year, 2022. Left my nine-to-five job with two years experience and went back home to take a course. A digital marketing course. Totally zero experience. But why did I not enroll in the office while taking the course?

Well, there are many reasons why I took the chance. The most important one; is the need for a career shift. Not because it is a popular trend this year or for millennials. But I really wanted the course since years ago, around 2019.

I worked in a reputable bank as a relationship officer. What I did daily might be different from the title I had. Collection and maintenance. I like to try new things, but my job field did not get my attention. Even it offered me a good salary.

Fear of the Unknown

digital marketing analytics visualization
Photo by Stephen Dawson on Unsplash

It was not easy to choose between continuing my job or taking the course. Lots of things to consider. In the end, I see no relevance between my previous job and the course I finally took. More confidence in taking the digital marketing course. I tried to recall what caught my attention. Turns out it is the digital industry.

I know this is a new phase for me. Fear, of course, I had it. What if I am wrong? What if it does not turn out to be? Humans fear something strange and unknown to them.

But it did not stop me from enrolling in the course I had dreamed of. Going to accept every incoming risk and chance starting in April.

The Achievement

relieved visualization
Photo by Nelson Wong on Unsplash

And now what? I passed it in October! Even so, my mentor gave me a recommendation on LinkedIn, which is quite exclusive for a student. Good exam results as well. Once again, I did it.

Never regret the choice we made. We never know what lies ahead of us. All you need to do is to take a faithful leap. Make your own journey and story.

I am just a mediocre guy with mediocre skills and knowledge. So that is why I enrolled in the digital marketing course to upgrade myself. At least, I have learned something that I want. Fulfilling my never-ending dream fragment by fragment. Hoping I am no longer the guy I was.

Let’s connect and collaborate on my LinkedIn profile.
If you like this story, you can tip me for a coffee.

--

--

Satrio Jagad
ILLUMINATION

Name's Gad. Currently writing articles about life lessons, self-care, and poem in Medium for Illumination publisher.