Put A Story In Your Painting!

Viewers love finding a story

Marsha Hamby Savage
ILLUMINATION

--

Three people in kayaks on the Toccoa River, courtesy of Marsha Savage (author)
“Three Generations” pastel painting — Courtesy of Marsha Hamby Savage (author)

Most stories have a painting in them!

Wait! Maybe it should be every painting should have a story in them.

I believe each viewer brings their own story to a painting.

What if all three statements above are true? It might be an excellent painting.

How can you manage to do that?

You have a unique thought each time you see or think about your next idea for a painting! Write down that thought. It can slip away quickly.

When you hear a story, don’t you create a scene in your head? I create a painting in mine. Since I have started writing, I now see a story of my own developing.

Triggers could be a color you love. It could be an object that means more to you than you realize. Even a particular word can evoke a scene and become a painting or a story. That idea draws you in for a reason.

How about singing or humming a song while you paint? Hold that brush in your hand while the music plays. Direct with that brush! Do a little dance back and forth to the canvas!

When I write, I usually listen to music… just like I do when I am painting. If it isn’t music, then it is the television for my hubby, and it…

--

--

Marsha Hamby Savage
ILLUMINATION

I am an Artist! Being an artist feels like I have a connection to nature. I am also writing a book about being an artist! My website: www.marshasavage.com