Quarantine Isn’t All That Bad

Polly Clover
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJul 22, 2020

--

After the pandemic, maybe I’ll stay in quarantine.

quarantine
Photo by Aleksandar Popovski on Unsplash

Back in March, when the United States cared (or pretended to care) about Coronavirus, I was a little taken aback by the idea of quarantine. I wasn’t quite sure how things would play out, as I’m sure we all felt. I was especially puzzled about how I’d be okay with not going out for a beer at the brewery, missed bowling date nights with my boyfriend, and skipping out on summer beach trips.

Now, I’m not quite sure how things will play out when the quarantine is over. And, quite frankly, I’m a little worried about being exposed to humans again on a regular basis.

Of course, the quarantine is already over for some if we’re being honest. But, if I’m not mistaken, the U.S. isn’t doing so hot in controlling this virus and that’s mostly why I’m still isolating. The other reason is humans.

While I do go to the grocery store, I have visited my family very cautiously, and I’ve gone to Target for work supplies, I am mostly at home. Let me clarify for those clowns who think I’m living in fear — I’m not living in fear. I am just a person who cares about the well-being of others. I don’t want to be a carrier and not know it and spread it to someone who can die from this virus. I don’t want to overwork people who are forced to be waiting tables, working in a retail store, and…

--

--