Questioning Modern Reality: When Objects Vanish and Sanity Waivers

Mark Scofield
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readApr 24, 2024

--

An experience-based argument for an indigenous interpretation of reality over our modern interpretation.

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

I woke up at 8:30. By 9:00, I had my first breakdown of the day and started to cry.

I apparently misplaced the remote control of my television. I couldn’t find it anywhere. I looked between the couch cushions. I looked in the refrigerator. I looked everywhere in my small 600-square-foot apartment. It wasn’t anywhere to be found.

This by itself is no reason to break down in tears, but the complete holistic story is. This is the third remote control to go missing in six months. My place is small, so it’s easy to look everywhere in a short period of time. I always put the remote in one of two places. My inner voice told me to forget about it.

Don’t think of pink elephants.

The last thing that I could do was forget about it. The idea that there must be three lost remote controls somehow somewhere in my apartment was a mystery that I couldn’t stop thinking about. Staring at the blank television screen didn’t help. Then I got a splitting headache. My inner voice said louder, “I told you to…

--

--

Mark Scofield
ILLUMINATION

Coming out of the shadows. No more pseudonym. Humans are designed to fail. I'm Exhibit A. Often writing semi-fictional history and autobiographical stories.