Rainy Morning Mastermind

My first walk of 2022 was so unexpected, refreshing, energetic, and, yes introspective

Walter Pop Matthews IV
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Walter P.o.p. Matthews IV

Rainy Morning Mastermind

1–31–22

I want to start this off by saying that I can't believe I'm finally posting this journal about New Year's Day on the last day of the month; I'll be honest, I felt off in January.

There's been so much resistance against me this month. It felt like a lot of work and life stress so far this year. Many inconveniences because of Covid-19, and it's a merry band of variants.

Plus, we've had a lot of snow, which adds stress because I work across town and I hate driving in it. I love walking in it. I've had some transcendent moments walking in snowstorms in January.

Still, as I said, I've felt a sadness that I don't understand. Even as I type this, I think it. My writing style is that when I'm not feeling too great, I don't write.

I like writing when I'm hopeful and inspired. I'm not a writer for my therapy kind of writer. So I've struggled to post so many unfinished drafts that I've lost interest in finishing.

I think there's a shift in my life that's going on that I don't understand yet. New Year's Day probably was the last day of 2021 because it was the…

--

--

Walter Pop Matthews IV
ILLUMINATION

A writer who has written an autobiography in poetry form, songs, a play and thought provoking commentary on various online platforms.