Rapper DMX Made It Cool To Be Vulnerable

He leaves behind a powerful legacy of passion and vulnerability

Njikwe
ILLUMINATION

--

By John Mueller, CC BY 2.5, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=1723844

DMX (real name Earl Simmons) aka Dark Man X, has passed away April 9th, 2021, age 50, from an apparent drug overdose and heart attack and I don't know how to deal.

I didn't want to write today, but here I am attempting to craft words to eulogize the life and legacy of one of my favorite rappers of all time.

I was first introduced to DMXs music in the ’90s by my dad.

At that time, I was growing a steady roster of top rap artists that spoke to my formative teenage years. The likes of Jay-Z, Nas, 2pac, Foxy Brown, Lil Kim, Diddy, and The Notorious B.I.G, were on easy repeat.

I will never forget the first time I heard the Ruff Ryder anthem and Get at me Dog from his debut album, It’s Dark and Hell is Hot. It was 6 a.m and we were heading to mass.

I was immediately enthralled by this gritty, gravely, hoarse-voiced rapper with punchy, passionate beats and lyrics that simultaneously riled you up, whilst speaking viscerally on pain.

If 2pac is to intelligent social commentary rap, and B.I.G to a Joie de vivre lifestyle, then DMX was the beloved, sweet soul love child of pain and suffering. Like Irv Gotti said, “if you are a

--

--

Njikwe
ILLUMINATION

Self-Development, Self-Improvement, and Marketing Writer. Voracious Learner, joyful coffee addict.