Re-written Not Written.

Stories aren’t written, they are re-written.

SheeWrites.
ILLUMINATION
3 min readMar 22, 2024

--

The author's book cover

It took me two months to jot down a premise for my nonfiction book. A memoir to be precise.

Ever since, I’ve been re-writing whatever it is I had written.

•••
On 19th of March, I figured it would be wise to start uploading sections of my book on Wattpad.

A number of compelling reasons prompted this decision. Although, not without a crippling sense of feeling emotionally tense having to putting out to the world such a sensitive and personal project: A written account of my actual life for people to know about, draw their opinions from or worse, criticize negatively.

Eventually, I shook off the irrelevant thoughts by focusing more on the relevant ones. Which included;

1. Building an author platform.
As an aspiring author who hopes to be published someday, I needed to think of the importance and advantage of creating an online presence. Where I could build a fan base for my work. While also getting the very much needed feedback every newbie author like myself needs to improve their craft while also getting encouraged by the warm comments from readers to keep soldiering on.

2. Be accountable to someone other than myself.
Although I currently don’t have followers on the platform, I know for certain that that will not be the case very soon.

As a result, my work will have committed fans who would be expecting a chapter or two every week from me. Their equally committed author. No?!...

3. Get inspired by other authors.
Wattpad has a diverse range of authors from all over the world. With an equal intensity availing a variety of genres for readers to pick from.
Now, I get so much value from the platform with this regard. Given that I’m a prolific reader.
I often joke that as a professional writer and author, I’m queer in that I probably read more than I write. With that in mind I wouldn’t take offense if someone regarded me as a professional reader instead.
What’s even more exciting is that most books are free. In that you could read them offline whenever and from wherever.

4. Give my book a shot at being a best reader (and best seller).
As a young author from Nairobi, Kenya_I’m often curious how far from Africa my words can reach. And how much positive impact it can gather.

But I’ll never know if I do not put it out to the world with the hope that it’ll find a home else where from here.

Declaration.

My book, titled: Verified Dilemmas will someday hit the best reader list(if such a list exists) and the best seller list(this one certainly does.)

Lastly, I wrote myself a little poem(titled, Curious) as I begin my author journey.

Curious.

I don’t know, I wish to know.

All is blurry, nothing’s in focus.

With tainted glasses on, I’m blind.

With a chaotic mind, I’m lost.

I don’t know, I wish to know.

On 19th March, I made my debut.

Started as a blogger, pivoted as an author.

T’is all still surreal to my blogger self.

Never thought I’d live my dream.

But hey!, here I am y’all.

I don’t know, I wish to know.

How far will my words so read?!

How many will relate, like and share?!

Will the book become a best reader?!

A best seller maybe?!…

I don’t know, I wish to know.

Note:

If you’d love to read my book on Wattpad, you can find it here.

My socials: Instagram and X.

--

--

SheeWrites.
ILLUMINATION

Hey 👋 there & welcome!! I mostly pen down Personal essays, Poems & Memoirs wrapped up with traces of humor, sadness, and wtf moments.