Read This If You Hate Your Job

The 5 Step Escape Plan

The No Life King
ILLUMINATION
6 min readDec 11, 2022

--

Photo by Sooraj Perambra on Unsplash

I have been in your shoes, Dear Reader, more times than I care to admit. In 2018 alone, I had three separate jobs, maintaining employment the entire time. The pay was lacking, but the experience has paid me dividends. No matter how much you hate your current occupation, you can learn from the experience.

Step 1: Assess Your Situation

  • Level 1: I dislike The People I Work With

If the people you work with are making you seriously consider leaving your job, try to find some common ground with at least one person. In every job I ever had, there were people I preferred to avoid. However, there was always at least one person with whom I could vent. Creating friendships at work has always been the saving grace of all the crappy jobs I have had the displeasure of working.

  • Level 2 : I Feel Unfulfilled or Underappreciated.

Many times in my life I have looked up and said. “I sold a day of my life for $80, and it was meaningless.” Once I realized this, just waking up in the morning was soul crushing. It was almost impossible for me to take the few steps from my room to the front door. If you feel this way, it is time to start taking the steps to make a change.

  • Level 3 : My Job Is Severely Effecting My Mental Health, Or I Feel Unsafe.

If you are severely depressed, suicidal, or are feeling unsafe at work,

DO NOT READ ANY FURTHER, GET HELP!

Sometimes quitting and cutting ties is your only option. Never pick money or a career over your mental health. It is not worth it.

Photo by Jozsef Hocza on Unsplash

Step 2 : Work Your Ass Off

My biggest eureka moment happened one day working a minimum wage job at a tool store. I was at a cross roads. Do I slack off and ride the clock? Do I just do the bare minimum….. or do I try my hardest, and become great at a job I despise?

I stopped resenting the job that was “beneath me "and focused on being the best at it. I thought, “If this job is beneath me, I better be the best in the damn room!”

A funny thing happened. When I tried to be the best, everyone improved. Suddenly more people encouraged each other and competed together. Soon rivalries formed followed fast by friendships.

No matter how much you hate your job, stay long enough to master it. If nothing else, people will always have good things to say about you.

A side note: If you desire to run a business, ask yourself this. “Would I tolerate my work ethic from an employee.”

Photo by charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

Step 3: Have A Conversation

The best thing I have ever done when I was unhappy with my job is very simple. I talked to my manager. I let someone in charge know I was not happy.

I would not tattle or blame others. However, I would tell them exactly what was wrong and ask if there was anything they could do to fix it.

Occasionally my managers were able to alleviate my stress or move me to another position. Other times, there was simply nothing they could do.

Even if there is nothing they can do for you, at least they know you are looking to make a change. If you have worked your ass off and become invaluable, they are much more likely to try to keep you a part of the team.

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Step 4: Take Full Advantage Of Your Opportunities

One day I asked myself honestly, “What do I want from my life?” The great thing about asking yourself an honest question you will get an honest answer from somewhere deep down in your soul. My answer was, “I want to own my own business.”

After I had this realization, I went to work learning everything I could about entrepreneurship. I read books, watched thousands of hours of YouTube, and most importantly I talked to people that had accomplished their goal of opening a business.

There is nothing new under the sun. Others have done what we hope and dream for. Seek them out, their advice is invaluable.

If you need to go back to college to chase your dreams, there are many scholarships in the U.S for adults to go back to college. In my home state of Tennessee, we have Tennessee Reconnect which is a program that lets anyone over the age of 23 go back to community collage or trade school for free!

If you work anywhere that is willing to pay for classes or certifications, take full advantage of them. If a certain aspect of your job interests you and can expand your understanding, take it on.

Something important I learned from my Dad in his career growth is, don’t ask…learn. It would be better for you to go to your manager and say I know how to do x than I want to learn how to do x.

Photo by Andrew Teoh on Unsplash

Step 5 : Create Your Exit Strategy

Once you have decided what your next career move should be, set a timeline. I know you want to leave this moment, but is that the best play? How long would it take you to reach your goal? A month? A year? Do not worry as it is not set in stone. Setting a timeline is like putting a light at the end of the dark tunnel. Even if the light is further off than you thought, at least you are not in the dark.

When I left my job to go full time in my business, it did not happen overnight. I spent a full year working seven days a week, four days at my job and three days working for myself. The goal I set for myself was to make more money with my business than my job could provide consistently. It soon became essential to drop to part time. As my business grew, I had to leave all together. I was “losing money” by coming to work.

If you went back to school to obtain a degree or certification, it should be your number one priority. If your current job pays the bills and your employer is willing to schedule around your classes, then stay until you have finished. If you have become an essential part of the crew they would be crazy not to be accomodating.

When the time comes to leave, give a two week notice whenever possible. Some people like to just leave and never come back. However, your two week notice is like writing the last chapter of the book that was this job experience. Even terrible stories deserve an ending.

Conclusion

The truth is, even at your dream job you will have bad days. I worked my ass of and reached my goal. You wanna know a secret? It still did not make me happy. I can honestly say my life was simpler at the tool store. However, I would take a ,stressful, panic inducing, hell ride of a life over a simple meaningless unfulfilled existence any day.

I wish you the best of luck on the journey you are about to embark on.

Sincerely,

The No Life King

Photo by Jason Hogan on Unsplash

--

--

The No Life King
ILLUMINATION

Author/ Small Business Owner/ Philosopher “It is not that I am mad, it is only that my head is different from yours.” Diogenes of Sinope