Read THIS if you “DON’T KNOW WHAT YOU’RE DOING” with your Life

From a teenager to another teenager
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readMar 14, 2024

If you ask any young adult about their primary stressor in life, it is likely something that relates to uncertainty. To be simply put in a sentence it would be something like “I don’t know what I’m doing with my life”.

Photo by Daniel Martinez from Unsplash

I just talked to a friend of mine who told me about some of his school friends, one of his friends took a drop year twice and did his bachelor's and now wants to change his field, and another who did a bachelor's in science but now dropped it and is doing bachelors in arts. I know so many people whose stories are similar.

Since childhood, I have been jealous of the people who had just one goal since childhood and worked hard and then one day told their heart-wrenching and hardworking story in some interviews, people who spent their time not figuring but achieving that goal. I am also ready to put in all my efforts and time only if I know what my “one goal “ in life is.

The idea that we should have everything preplanned in life and follow a certain trajectory, having just one goal is just socially imposed on us since our childhood.

Nobody- not one of the us-knows “what we’re doing with our lives”. We can’t summarize the big picture, not yet. What we’ll be doing 3 years or 4 or so from now will always remain a mystery to us.

Knowing it already generally makes people believe that they’re responsible and ambitious but actually thinking that you know what you’re doing with your life quells your hunger. It soothes your mind with the illusion that your path is laid out before you and you no longer have to choose. Life seems easier this way, doesn’t it? It’s feeling like you already know what to choose, what to do, and what you’ll eventually do, but not everybody knows it all already.

Then what should I do?

Just ask yourself everyday-”what do I do now”.

Whatever your heart actually wants, you’ll do it, repeat it everyday and your inner thoughts and feelings will navigate you to your destination itself.

I have yet to follow it, but this is what I feel is the answer I came to after all these years.

--

--

From a teenager to another teenager
ILLUMINATION

A 19 year old teenager. If you are also confused and struck like me too, do read my posts. Will be happy to have discussions about it.