Josh Hild @ pexels.com

Why Reading Is Like Updating Your “CPU”

Another way of looking at the benefits of reading (and why it matters what you read)

Edžus Beinārs
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readSep 24, 2020

--

I have no in-depth knowledge about computers and their functions. I somehow never got the thrill of it, so my interest in them has been limited to pure functionality.

The one-term I do know is the CPU or central processing unit (processor). These are responsible for giving and executing specific commands that make computer programs work.

Okay, that’s about all I know, but I don’t need anything more for this article.

The brain and “CPU”

I want to offer an analogy.

Imagine your brain as the CPU.

I feel it is fitting because the brain houses the neuronal circuitry that affects and regulates the whole body by giving specific instructions to other bodily parts for execution.

As you are well aware of all the annoying reminders, computers, and their CPUs, need updating.

Reading works in a somewhat similar way. The information you take in “upgrades” your “CPU.” It influences the way you think and make decisions further on.

It may seem somewhat unintuitive because most people have a powerful sense of…

--

--