Real Confessions of a Former Online Psychic

Irene Lopez
ILLUMINATION
Published in
9 min readMar 27, 2022

--

And why she stopped doing readings to embrace religion instead

Confessions of an online psychic | Photo by Damir Spanic on Unsplash

Meghan (not her real name) agreed to talk to me on the condition of anonymity. A popular psychic who used to do chat and email readings, Meghan gave up her work several years ago to embrace religion and find, according to her, peace and some semblance of wholeness in her own life.

In this part confessional/part interview, Meghan lays threadbare what it was like to work as a psychic, insider information on the psychic business, and the reasons why she chose to leave the new age world in its entirety behind.

Talk us through the inner workings of a psychic. How are or were you different?

There’s no formulaic convention of how psychics work. It’s different for different people I guess. I wasn’t psychic to start with, I don’t think. Just intuitive. I had a very difficult childhood which meant that from an early age I think I was looking for escapism and anything that would make me feel good.

I started off getting involved with new age style healing sessions and eventually became an expert myself. I had childhood anxiety wiped out in a single session that made me a believer then. I then branched off to doing psychic readings because after all that learning, I…

--

--