Reasons Why Life Gets Better When You Get Older

The truths about aging that most people don’t know

Anggun Bawi
ILLUMINATION

--

I used to be one of those young people who think that aging is scary.

For so long since in my early 20s, I couldn’t change that mindset. I really couldn’t imagine myself being old and become less productive. Plus, in my mind, all things are pretty limited when we get old such as the physical activities that we do when we’re young.

But my mindset around it had completely changed when my father passed away last year. The way I see life's different now, and I am no longer scared of getting older. As I spoke to my grandmother, who’s in her 70s, it’s refreshing how life actually is in their perspective, and I can assure you it’s not as bad as we, young people think it is.

A clinical psychologist Forrest Scogin, Ph.D., of the University of Alabama, says that “In general, most non-neurotic older people are content with what they’ve done with their lives, are happy, have high self-esteem, and a sense of well-being.”

This also means when we get older, we become more flexible and understanding with what’s happening in our lives. Our acceptance levels will be higher because we’ve had…

--

--

Anggun Bawi
ILLUMINATION

writing on trauma, dating and relationships - in the hope that you'll feel less alone on your journey | lives in vancouver 🇨🇦