Receiving Praise

Adonis Richards
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMay 8, 2024

--

Image credit to Mohammed_Hassan on Pixabay

Recently, I spent time at a friend’s house, and we all sat around and highlighted what we appreciated about each other.

We all took turns talking about each other and what we knew about each other and giving each other our flowers. When it was my turn to receive, I was nervous and unable to control my emotions. I legitimately cried and couldn’t hold it in.

It was at that moment that I realized that I suck at receiving praise.

I’ve always wondered why this was the case.

So I dove deep into my psyche to understand what halted me from receiving praise.

I learned three things.

  1. I didn’t receive enough praise as a child
    And thus it has affected the way I receive it as an adult

2. I was always scolded when I didn’t do well
Thus I respond positively to being yelled at and told I’m not good enough, it satiates my need to feel inadequate.

3. I don’t love myself to be able to receive praise and not feel like my ego is inflated.
So I constantly deflect when I’m being praised.

These three things caused me to sit with myself and understand a lot about who I am. Growing up, not receiving praise enough caused a feeling of emptiness…

--

--

Adonis Richards
ILLUMINATION

Writer and poet aspiring to write and create content. Website: adonisinquiry.com