Red Flag #8: If all of his exes are “crazy”…

Y. Vue
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readApr 26, 2023

--

Photo by Valeria Boltneva: https://www.pexels.com/photo/smiling-woman-holding-knife-14117/

About six years ago, my ex told his now-wife-then-girlfriend and his best friend that all of his exes (all 7 or so of us) were “shit asses” and “crazy” while I was standing right next to them. We were all at a mutual house party and I was trying to be polite and invisible. The story of why we were both there is a long and boring one which isn’t worth going into. All night, I wished the wall could’ve swallowed me because I did not want to be there in the first place.

He continued in this vein until I finally lost my cool and said, “Are you serious right now? What the fuck! Are you talking shit about me while I’m standing right here? I had your back the entire relationship. You’re the one that cheated and lied and manipulated.”

He then proceeded to drunkenly cry and point at me and say, “See? That’s what I’m talking about. She’s so mean. They’re all shit asses.” At this point, his best friend and his then-girlfriend began to hover over his sobbing body and pat him on the back and cluck away at him like he was some wounded chick. His best friend then turns and looks at me and says, “I think you should leave,” before he turns back to my ex who was still drunkenly sobbing at the table.

The entire night, I’d said less than ten words to anyone until that moment. I could feel my incredulity at the absurdity of everything…

--

--