Reduce Your Big 3 Expenses and Put More Money in Your Pocket

Cait Mack
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readAug 17, 2023

--

Aditya Vyas

Living well in America is expensive.

The average rent, overall, is 1,700/month. But I know most people pay significantly more.

The average mortgage is 2,800. Oof.

Average food cost for a family of 4 is 1,200/month.

Owning a car (car payments, insurance, gas, maintenance, etc.) is about 1,000/month.

The median household income is 5,800 per month (gross). Though obviously many live on a lot less.

You can see how these Big 3 eat up most of your take home pay.

Here are some ways to reduce them.

Big Expense #1: Housing

Live with your parents or your family for as long as you can.

I lived with my parents until I was 27, then again from 32–34. This alone has helped me save anywhere from 40–60% of my yearly salary.

It was the catalyst to me growing my wealth.

Refinance your mortgage to find better rates

You can save hundreds of dollars a year on interest and pay your debt off faster.

--

--

Cait Mack
ILLUMINATION

I simplify everything so you can focus on crushing life FREE resources: caitmackcs.gumroad.com