Reflection

Sonika
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readNov 13, 2022
Photo by Vale Zmeykov on Unsplash

Here I am, standing in front of the mirror,

trying to recognize the reflection

but all I can see is a different person!

I could go on and on,

trying to figure out when I changed from who I was!

I think about those memories,

that haunted me for so long,

yet today I am happy with everything that I’ve found!

Took me long enough,

to realize not everything will go wrong!

Maybe now I might believe in myself

when things don’t go the way I want!

Have you ever noticed that you tend to follow a single path when it comes to dealing with situations in your life? When things go wrong, you either comfort yourself by saying that it happened for the best, it happened for a reason and as you move on, you start relating the positives in your life as an outcome to the problem you faced or you spiral into negative thoughts blaming yourself for everything. With each situation, you reinstate your thought process.

When I first drafted this poem, it had a very sad ending, but today I feel like a different person. Someone who is hopeful, which is what I wanted to capture in this version.

--

--

Sonika
ILLUMINATION

I write for people like me who just want to be able to relate to things in life. Everyday things that seem normal yet not spoken about enough.