Reframing perfectionism

Eleonora Catalano
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJul 5, 2024

I always thought that a perfectionist is someone who does everything in a meticulous way, without leaving space for imperfections.

However recently I realised I might have always misunderstood its real meaning.

Photo by Liz Sanchez-Vegas on Unsplash

The parallelism with competitiveness

- Would you like to join the tennis table tournament this summer?

- No thanks, I don’t like competitions.

- Oh wow, you’re so competitive!

If this conversation sound familiar to you, then you know what I’m talking about.

The most instinctive answer to that last comment would have been “I’m not competitive at all!” – with some resentment towards the person I’m talking to as well. The fact that I don’t enjoy tournaments always meant that I’m not a competitive person, since competitive people love competing. Perhaps the way I always interpreted this word has been misleading for my whole life.

Recently, I got invited to join a swimming competition on the campus where I live, by the swim coach who saw me swimming just once. At first, I was flattered by the invitation as I thought he must have seen some strengths in my swimming style.

But as I was considering more and more the possibility of joining it, the idea of not being a strong swimmer (I enjoy it but I’m certainly not a professional) and being certain not to be able to win or even arrive last grew in me.

I decided not to join.

The day of the competition came and at night I met one colleague who did participate. He said he arrived last, he hadn’t swum in a long time and was totally out of shape, yet he was happy and enjoyed it so much!

That conversation made me think. He truly enjoyed competing without winning, while I ended up not even joining because I was afraid of losing.

Am I the competitive one?

Photo by Alex Nicolopoulos on Unsplash

Perfectionism doesn’t mean doing everything perfectly

Like with the competitiveness, maybe I need to shift my point of view.

I never thought I was a perfectionist since I find that everything I do isn’t perfect.

Well, that’s probably the alarm bell! The fact that I focus on details and think that I could be doing much better, that I keep reworking on things until they’re “good enough”, and that they never end up being good enough for me, well, this should be telling me something.

Photo by Laurenz Kleinheider on Unsplash

--

--

Eleonora Catalano
ILLUMINATION

Wind engineer, musician, evolutionary coach, traveller - rediscovering my inner passion for writing