Revisiting Life: “The Road Not Taken”-Robert Frost

Let’s revisit this exceptional poem and view one more perspective.

Booker Shelf | Ignite The Learning
ILLUMINATION
3 min readFeb 4, 2023

--

the road less traveled by robert frost
Image from leadwithastory

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I —
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Learnings

This poem has taught me several valuable lessons about life.

One of the most important things I learned from this poem is that we should take control of our own lives and make our own decisions.

It’s easy to follow the crowd and go with the flow, but sometimes the best opportunities come from taking a different path and being brave enough to stand out. It has taught me the importance of being unique and true to myself.

We should embrace uncertainty and be open to new experiences. The road speaker chose was not well-trodden, but he was willing to take a chance and see where it would lead him.

Keep in mind that sometimes the best opportunities come from taking risks and stepping outside of our comfort zones.

It’s also important to be mindful of the decisions we make, as every choice has consequences.

the road less traveled by robert frost
Image by digitalarteducation

The road you will choose, chances are you might never come back from one. So, choose your road wisely.

Revisiting life is a series, where I’ll be sharing poems and poetries that share deeper meanings about life. Please share your favorite poems in the comment section.

Follow me for more book reviews, recommendations and ideas from books. Don’t forget to join my FREE Substack newsletter where I share wisdom insights every week twice. That’s also how you can support me❤.

(You can also click image below to directly reach my newbie newsletter..)

Good day, don’t be afraid to choose road less travelled. 💫🌟

--

--