Rich Lists Need to Die. Nobody Cares About the Millionaire Life.

Acquiring stupid amounts of money is glorified hoarding.

Tim Denning
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMay 30, 2022

--

Photo by Dieter Blom on Unsplash

Rich lists make me vomit in my mouth.

Forbes 30 under 30 is one of the worst. Admittedly, as a 20-something young punk, I used to worship the ground these show ponies walk on.

Now I cringe at all of it. You probably do too.

A short story of a typical young rich prickstar

Unfortunately, I have some experience with these young rich listers.

While working in finance I came face-to-face with them all the time. One nearly became a client. I asked to have coffee with them to pitch our services.

He insisted on taking me to a fine dining restaurant.

He rolled up in a hot pink suit jacket, rainbow pocket square, Louis Vuitton loafers, and jeans so tight you could see his man junk.

I nearly coughed my lungs up from the prestigious snobs dining all around me. I hated every minute of it. The meeting went well though.

A few days later I got a call from the CEO’s office of my employer….

(This was a 40,000-person company mind you.)

--

--

Tim Denning
ILLUMINATION

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb