Right where I am sitting — Part 1

Sowmini
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 4, 2024
Photo by Julien Mussard on Unsplash

I am seated on the bed. It’s 7 am. The sun is peeking through the curtains. I’ve had a good night’s sleep. My daughter is still in slumber, determined not to wake up before 9.

I look around me and try to make a note of things that had not caught my attention from the time I sat down at this spot.

  1. The bed has a sturdy frame with a lovely reddish-brown hue, taking me deep into the woods every time I set my eyes on it.
  2. There is a tiny sticker, the size of a Gems chocolate, with the number “3” inscribed on it. I am surprised how the maker of the cot knows my favorite number.
  3. There is a pale yellow patch on one of the legs of the frame that looks like it has gone through an injury or damage in recent times. It is standing out amidst the strong brown tint of the frame, screaming at me (in pain?) and yet I never noticed it all these days.
  4. The bed has a metal plate with the logo “Duroflex” affixed to it. I wish I could change it to “Sowmini”. I have bought it with my hard-earned money, after all.
  5. The quilt on the bed has patterns resembling a dolphin leaping above the waves. It used to look like a blossom all these days. I am not sure if it is the morning light that is making everything seem new and surreal.
  6. Alternating streaks of white dots and flower buds run all over the bedsheet. It gives me a feeling that the flowers are breathing and the dots are the air bubbles let out by them.
  7. The fabric has white prints on a dark beige background, while the wall against which the bed rests, has leaf prints in dark beige on a white canvas. I am pleasantly surprised by the discovery of this yin-yang portrayal in my bedroom.
  8. There are hair strands on the pillows. They remind me of my vitamin deficiency and the long overdue appointment with the doctor. I wish I could collect them all and glue them back to my head.
  9. There are tiny pores in the fabric. “Don’t try to hide anything. I can very well see through you!”, I tell the bedsheet.
  10. The headrest of the bed has specs of dust on it. It makes me feel, that observing things so closely does have its downside. One may not like all that one sees, after all!

This post is fueled by a creative design thinking workshop that I am attending this month. The trainer has given me an assignment to write down ten things about where I am sitting at the moment, which I hadn’t noticed when I sat down there. It is an interesting, yet challenging task. I am happy that it made me look around and pay attention to the micro and macro things that I have been co-existing with, all the while.

In hindsight, I could have used my other senses as well. Not just sight.

I urge you readers to try this experiment and let me know your experience :-) This could be your next writing prompt too!

--

--

Sowmini
ILLUMINATION

An aspiring writer and stand up comedian. I write to break free from the monotony of life. I find solace in words.