Roses and Thorns: A bewildering spring caught between hot and cold

Seasons and seasons pass by, yet you never pass, part of an inkling of sorrows, pain, and everything between sadness and happiness

Kallol Mazumdar
ILLUMINATION
3 min readMar 3, 2023

--

First of all, I would like to thank my dear friend Mustapha El Hajj who included me in his lovely prompt, a beautiful creation of Jason Edmunds on the topic, ‘Roses and Thorns.’ Roses and Thorns are not just two separate entities, for both these words coexist together and help you in finding your own stream of happiness. The poem that I am about to write is a reflection of How Roses, which is a serene symbol of happiness, and thorns, a glitch in the silver screen, has a larger role to play in your mood space and natural aura.

Roses and Thorns, red, wet, and velvet, you appear

Like all the glitter bereft of being gold, shining in sands and breathing in iron and salts

Why do you repair the old damage that was done in the wanderlust of winter dust

For you come today, take my being by your hand, and gently let the granules of sand flow

Let the sand dunes cross the summers and meet me in the spring,

I waited and waited, like a being with hope

As if thorns laid in my bare bones, of the pain I received, in exchange, you were always my mighty phantom

But you brought me Roses as if I was ever going to shed your coat of breath from my thorn-stuck bones

The wolves howl, and the kingdoms brawl, the kings speak of tragic mysteries of unending histories, a cold wind just traveled into you

Shaking the spine, sorrows diluted and demons uprooted, as the thorn sliding away can be felt

Little and little, you know, you are more than you feel, you are more than the self-belief of the cultures you sow

The light is near, it was never away, the velvet, red, and maroon roses appear, and their thorns stung differently, like an angelic hiss

Of the tongues kissing the fog, the bog of foggy mind, a cluttered system winding up, again and again, to lose in dreams

To never come back, ever again, forever in pain, but the mighty winds coveted come in duress under concourses

It saw the lights and brightness enveloping you, it was a yellow rose, a mighty foe with unending friendships to divine relationships, and it sat on your lap.

It tells you not all mighty things deem themselves mighty, just like ‘love’ our friendship had depth, and I would like to fall in it, in it, and in it.

Till the winters end, summers stay away. Let me be jolly and upbeat and wait for the mighty frolic heat.

For I am still recovering from imprinted Roses and Thorns.

I further nominate some of the talented writers we have on Medium to further participate in the prompt, and they are:

Alexander Semenyuk, Thomas Gaudex, Ann Christine Tabaka, Experiencing life as the way it is, Michelangelo Jean, Patricia Timmermans, Michelle Renee Kidwell, Gina C., Mon Esprit, Shaynerose Magabi, Walter Bowne, Mary Louisa Cappelli, MFA, JD, PhD, David Rudder, Steven Laine, Nevena Pascaleva, William J Spirdione, Habib Rehman, Krystal, Jason Michaels, and Tina Kuhn.

Thanks a lot for taking some precious time out of your schedule to read my work. If you like it, you can read some of the other poems I have linked below. I hope you have a great day! Thanks for stopping by!!!

You lay fearless for the last time, I never saw you so in awe and peace

Demon engulfs me, enslaves me, and breaks me

Feeders of Flesh: Why don’t you introspect yourself?

--

--

Kallol Mazumdar
ILLUMINATION

Writing to unfurl and deconstruct the deceptive cover laid out on my gaze. Let the flow of ideas illuminate a part of me and a whole lot of you. 🌺🌻💐🍂🤺