Saying No Is Power. Saying No Out Of Habit Is A Weakness.

All the things I’ve said YES to, and what happened next.

Maya Sayvanova
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio: https://www.pexels.com/photo/waiter-with-tray-working-in-stylish-restaurant-3769740/

A friend of mine is learning to say no. She’s become a little obsessed with it. I’m almost afraid to call her.

I have another friend who’s learning to set boundaries. She’s usually super kind. The last time we went out, she had an open argument with our idiot waiter.

It got me thinking. I’m really good at saying no and setting boundaries.

Like, real-l-l-ly good.

Maybe too good?

The master of “No.”

For years, I’ve been extremely careful about protecting my time and energy. I got so good that “no” was my go-to.

No, I won’t start posting on 47 social media platforms.

No, I won’t write an unpaid test for your project.

No, I won’t have a meeting.

No, no, no.

Every time I said it, I thought, whatever, another opportunity will come.

It’s great I’m so optimistic. But also, what if I say no to all opportunities that come?

You know that movie, right? “Yes Man”?

--

--

Maya Sayvanova
ILLUMINATION

6-Figure Writer | Featured in Business Insider | Helping solopreneurs succeed | Sign up here: https://rb.gy/jbwa8b