Saying That Everything Is Divine Is A Hard Sell

Because, how do we handle all the awful stuff? How can that be divine, too?

Henry India Holdenđź’–
ILLUMINATION

--

Peaceful face with eyes closed, glittering in the dark in hues of purple, magenta, blue and green.
Photo by Jill Heyer on Unsplash

This question gets to the heart of the problem for the mystic who writes about the divine.

From my real-life mystical experiences and those of my mother before me, I trust that it is true that all is divine, however mysteriously.

But what If I’m deluded? I have to give you that I may be. But not because I’m wrapped in a cocoon of spiritual bypassing. I can see what’s wrong in the world; it makes my heartache. As a child of the 60s in Germany, I was terrified of global nuclear annihilation. At night before sleep, I was often haunted by an image of my own construction: Our world, as seen from space, engulfed in red and orange fire. As I write this, I feel an old sorrow pressing on my chest.

When the Berlin wall came down many years after I’d moved to the United States, bringing to an end to the “Cold War,” my shoulders came down with it.

Then came the knowledge of world hunger and forty thousand preventable deaths each day. Followed by a growing awareness of global warming and species extinctions. Then the witnessing of the oppression and exploitation that is the hallmark of late-stage capitalism. And, lately…

--

--

Henry India Holdenđź’–
ILLUMINATION

Eco-spiritual writings about nature, the human world & love. Soul coach, ecotherapist, Reiki master. henryindiaholden.com