Scavenger Hunt in Vancouver

A day from my travel diary

Sabiqa Nasir
ILLUMINATION
4 min readSep 15, 2021

--

Photo by Drew Graham on Unsplash

It’s been just over a year since I last visited Vancouver — because of diverse cultural backgrounds with fascinating landscape sights. However, I like to use it as my one-year marker because of Canada’s thanksgiving.

There was a liveable downtown core, a vast range of food options, but especially the wholesome package of the exquisite rainforest. Plus, undeniable perplexing hiking spots, beautiful lakes, and boating activities.

Vancouver is home to people who like many vibrant and exciting areas to explore or take notes like me. Nature inspires me to write, and I do in most of my stories by capturing its essence to pin with emotions. I was nine years old when I started writing journals. Making connections from situations has been part of me since then.

I arbitrarily assume it is Metro Vancouver. So, I can mention that place where my heart skipped the beat even in the memory of it. Maybe we can call it that I have nostalgic memories of nature.

The Deer Lake Park in Burnaby is a breathtaking, lovely lake in the center of green cushions. Similar to my perception of magnificent gardens with hooping deer sipping from the lake. It feels peaceful with birds chirping on the trees near the lakeside. Harmonious view along with the tulip’s reflection in the clear azure lake.

Then we travel from Burnaby to Northern Vancouver almost 11 miles. At the same time, passing from the road to PNE Fair. Because I had no kids or friends on my trip, so I decided not to stop by. I listened to the music along with open windows, and the wind brushed the hair off my face.

At the next stop, when I stepped my foot out of the car. I fall for the view ahead.

Lemon and mint-coated meadows with the sun flare that shears every stem. Thick, tall trunks on both sides of vintage shaded wood to carpet. It’s a Lynn Canyon suspension Bridge, I had a walk to remember, but I got hypnotized in its mesmerizing beauty. When a pink butterfly’s way passes through my hands like crystal dangles from the sky. The sound of my boots on a curved wooden alley makes me recognize the paths where I was for the first time.

It was all beautiful till here until I saw my doppelganger. I was motionless for few moments and observing calmly. I realized that I was directly staring at someone’s face, half-covered with a blue floral mask. For once, I almost forgot what my face was. I take out my phone and relief to see my selfie at home lock, finally now I will be sure what I look like.

Once, I heard in a movie; there are seven people in the universe with the same face. Maybe I am lucky enough to meet one in my lifetime.

She had blond hair, which she dyed cherry blond from the edges, whereas mine is brown. I determine to meet her in a flash moment. To see someone’s reaction when they glance at the person carbon copy of itself.

Suppose she was my twin sister whom I lost in the last world war. Oh, sister! We finally met, or if she is a millionaire’s daughter and ignore passes through because she doesn’t want anyone to be a replica of her. And sent a secret agent to kill me so that she could maintain her individuality. I am a bit insecure and jealous; she is prettier.

However, I rushed and took the stumbling steps. To take at least a closer look, I called ‘hey, wait! Blond in blue’, but my voice just left in my throat. She didn’t turn back. Suddenly, a label from her backpack fell, as it knew I was going to come after her.

Now I have at least sensible reason to stop her and asked, Are you, my lost sister? Well, for once, she thought the same when she got her first eye on me. And asked me to pull off my face mask. I was curious enough that I showed my face within a blink. Then she followed its difference from underneath the cover, lips, nose, and chin.

Thank God she doesn’t have to share her dad’s holding with some brown hair doppelganger in a mask. Well, her name is Casie, and I am blessed with a better voice. We took a picture with a mask and without it, but I lost my phone at the airport while returning home.

My trip continues for one more week now. I can connect to nature deeper and more thoughtfully.

Quarry rock in between the waterfalls was the next destination. It reflects the message that phenomena of opposites and similarity are in the arrangement of the unknowns. We will never know what’s upcoming, tears of joy or those after the dark days. But if we have memories linked to places, change the memories, not the site.

Go and Laugh in the places you have cried- you have got to change the narrative.

There are even a few lesser-known off-shoot trails that are motivational to hike. Iconic ferry and seawall are a part of my daily routine for jog and meditation. Meeting people from different cultures is fun. Not to mention the architecture is no less than a wonder.

It has been my favorite spot on earth since last year. Maybe next time I get a chance to meet another doppelganger.

--

--