School Will Never Be The Same After Covid-19

aimeepalooza
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMay 24, 2020

--

Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

My day job, as a local newspaper reporter, is back. We’ve adjusted to online only and rather than 3 plus stories per week, I write two. This week, I reported on several zoom meetings that took place, and the culmination, stole my breath a bit.

One zoom was a community forum. This forum is often host to political candidates, elected officials, and civically minded residents. For me, it has been really educational on how decisions are made. It is run by two men; a former judge and a former state rep. The men are from opposite political parties. It is never a one sided show. Conservatives and Liberals come together and learn. In times like these it is a very refreshing interaction. This week, one of the hosts realized there was an expert on disease control. He asked her to speak on what she knew. Though she is no longer in that position, she was formerly the head of disease control for a local hospital. She happened to work in that position during the AIDS epidemic. She described life in a hospital before AIDS.

Before AIDS we did not wear gloves. AIDs made us look at staff safety, like PPE and sharps containers.

My jaw dropped. I was alive during AIDS. But I do not remember doctors offices or hospitals before AIDS hit. My mind could not imagine a time with staff without gloves or sharps containers. I knew it happened. I…

--

--

aimeepalooza
ILLUMINATION

Wife, mom, Michigan Wolverine, and terrible triathlete with a love of words. Spoonie who enjoys nerding out on medical abstracts, genetics, politics and history