Searching For Me

I ran off from Mesopotamia to Indus valley

Jahid
ILLUMINATION
1 min readJan 8, 2021

--

Nicholas Roerich art

I was in the tavern,

In the midst of various delights-

women, wines, amusing companions, beautiful paintings.

Suddenly,

I heard a calling,

a calling where I sensed more delight than anything here.

I searched from corner to corner

from floor to ceiling

but I couldn’t find the source.

Again,

calling came through the window that was wide open.

I ran off to the street

and searched for the source.

From then on-

I ran off from Mesopotamia to Indus valley,

from ancient past to furthest future,

from near east to far west,

from matters to ideas,

from Milky-way to unknown galaxies,

And I searched on and on.

But you were close,

closer even from my vain.

I heard the call clearly for the last time-

from the deepest of my existence,

you called me towards you through me

and I ran off again.

This time I ran off from me to me

To completely get out of myself

And annihilated into you.

--

--

Jahid
ILLUMINATION

writing is a career, learning is oxygen. Breaking is the daily routine, creating is the outcome.