Seizing Success: Breaking Free from the Grip of Envy

Brenda H.
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 16, 2024

--

How to Turn Envy into Motivation and Propel Towards Goals

Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

A motivational speaker raised a $20 bill and asked the audience: “Who wants this money?”

She asked the audience with an increasing volume of prompting: “Who really wants this money?”

I really wanted the money.

So, what did I do?

I sat there.

I just sat there.

Instead, someone else ran up and took the money.

I was envious of both the motivational speaker AND the person who had the chutzpah to run to the front to grab the bill. I’ve been green with envy many times. I’ve learned, though, that envy is just another word for nothing left to lose, to paraphrase Janis Joplin.

Envy keeps you stuck

Staying stuck in envy is a wheel-spinning activity. A close cousin to worry, envy keeps you fixated on what’s right in front of you without any effort from you to take what you desire.

That motivational speaker was pivotal for me.

Well, that’s why I went to see her; it was to get motivated.

Success Is Not Served On A Silver Platter

--

--

Brenda H.
ILLUMINATION

A not-yet-60-year-old Texas transplant is making retirement plans for anywhere else but here. Educated by School of Hard Knocks. Today is Once in a Lifetime.