Self-Help Book Review: The Big Leap by Gay Hendricks

I’m learning that I can still improve myself and unlock more ways to be happier.

Erin King
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readJul 7, 2020

--

Photo by Kristopher Roller on Unsplash

Last night my husband and I were having a cocktail. He’d just finished doing some work on my daycare’s backyard playground.

I’m opening back up today, writing this early in the morning before my first child arrives.

As we sat outside, listening to music and chatting, I executed a move right out of the self-help book I’d just finished reading.

The book is called “The Big Leap” By Gay Hendricks, and it’s all about overcoming inner obstacles to happiness and success.

It’s about how we do things to set an upper limit on our joy. When we reach a certain level of success, we sabotage ourselves because we feel uncomfortable.

He traces the roots of these upper limits to our childhood and sets out four basic reasons why we learn to limit ourselves.

Photo by Hugues de BUYER-MIMEURE on Unsplash

The book is an easy read, unpretentious and straightforward, and when I started it, my instinct was to blow it off as a bit too “on the nose.”

--

--

Erin King
ILLUMINATION

Writer, musician, toddler wrangler. Author: “How To Be Wise AF”, a 30-day prompted journal-find out more on Amazon. Contact me at howtobewiseaf@gmail.com