Self-Talk: Do you use ‘I’ or You?

Jothi PM
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 13, 2024

--

Image designed by Jothi PM using canva

If you are not a medium member, Read this story here

Self Talk is how we talk to ourselves in our mind which no one can hear. The way you talk to yourself about yourself and anything in this world is what makes you feel happy, sad, disappointed, angry and fearful too.

You wake up in the morning a bit late and say, “Oh! I’m late. I snoozed the alarm again”. That’s how you start your day with regret. That’s too bad to insult yourself for taking extra minutes of sleep. Isn’t it?

1 — How to do Self-Talk?

You cannot focus on what you missed in any situation and blame yourself. There is a difference between knowing your mistakes and taking action to avoid them next time.

Examples of self-talk of blaming you or situations

I missed the train, I would have caught it if there was no rain. it was not my fault. It’s just the stupid weather.

I should have said something in a meeting today so others would not think that I’m dumb.

If you talk about how badly you messed up something, you are not going to find out how to avoid that mess again. Because you feed your mind with the problem in all dimensions. Instead, Imagine all possible solutions to the same problem so you will not make the same mistake again.

--

--

Jothi PM
ILLUMINATION

Writing Life lessons ~ Notion Template Creator ~ Solopreneur. Join my newsletter: https://jothipm.substack.com/ to grow with me