Setting Up the Ultimate PowerShell Prompt with Oh My Posh and the Windows Terminal

NinjaCoder
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJul 6, 2023

--

Prettify your consoles!

Become a Medium Member to directly support my work. You’ll also get full access to every story on Medium. Thanks in advance!

Photo by Tom Podmore on Unsplash

PowerShell is a powerful command-line shell and scripting language that is widely used by developers and system administrators. One of its great features is its support for custom prompts, which allows you to personalize the look and feel of your command line.

In this post, we’ll explore how to set up the ultimate PowerShell prompt using Oh My Posh and the Windows Terminal.

What is Oh My Posh?

Oh My Posh is a tool that allows you to create custom prompts for your command line. It supports a wide range of shells, including PowerShell, and provides a large number of themes and customization options.

With Oh My Posh, you can create a prompt that displays useful information such as the current time, your username, the current directory, and the status of your Git repository.

Installing Oh My Posh

To install Oh My Posh on Windows, you’ll need to use the PowerShellGet package manager. You can install Oh My Posh by running the following command in your PowerShell…

--

--

NinjaCoder
ILLUMINATION

I am a Microsoft Certified Cloud Architect with 16 years in Cloud, Programming & Architecture. Support me @https://www.buymeacoffee.com/ninjacoder1986