Sharing a Border with Sweden Right Now is Making Me Nervous

What will happen when Finland eases restrictions?

Lisa Bolin
ILLUMINATION

--

I live 50 kilometres from Sweden. Luckily, during this pandemic, the border is a line in the sea. There’s 50km of water between where I live and the coast of Sweden.

You see, I live in Finland. And it’s not looking good for Sweden in this period of crisis.

I don’t need to read the above piece (although I did) because I am very aware that only a thirty-minute flight or two-and-a-half-hour ferry journey away, is Sweden. I am very aware they have had a very different approach in dealing with the spread of Covid-19 to other Nordic countries (Finland is part of the Nordic region but not part of Scandinavia), and other countries around the world.

Living in a Swedish-speaking autonomous province of Finland, and with many Swedes living here, almost the whole population keeps abreast of what is happening in Sweden. We get their news, their newspapers, their radio.

--

--

Lisa Bolin
ILLUMINATION

Writer | Poet | Educator | Book-lover | Multilingual | Travel Enthusiast | Garden of Neuro Institute sister | A curious soul | A little fearless