Sharing My Light: ILLUMINATION Introduction

Patrick M. Davis
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJun 4, 2020

--

Greetings, fellow ILLUMINATORS! I am so grateful for this community of writers and for what I have already gained during my short time on Medium. It is inspiring to see such a diverse group of individuals sharing their passions and baring their souls. Thank you.

Photo by Prateek Gautam on Unsplash

How I Got Here

My relatively recent rediscovery of my love of writing has been inspired by my return to school. After 20+ years of working in construction and manufacturing fields, I was facing severe burnout. During a brief stint of taking prerequisites for a Physical Therapy Assistant Program, I took English Composition I. I wrote five essays for that class and loved every minute of it.

Soon after that semester, I changed my major to journalism. With the support and encouragement of my wife, I have been able to reduce my work schedule so that I can go to school full time. I am currently pursuing an Associate of Arts degree in Journalism at Austin Community College. I intend to transfer to a four-year school to continue my study of journalism and also obtain a degree in religious studies. My ultimate career goal is to write blogs, articles, and books that highlight the unity and efficacy of the world’s religions. I’ve already started writing about my spiritual path and have had one blog published on Be Here Now Network.

--

--