Should Minorities Still Blame Their Problems on Society?

We need to separate individual problems and societal problems better.

Khadejah
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Oladimeji Odunsi on Unsplash

“Racism isn’t as prevalent as it used to be.”

I always had a visceral reaction to that comment.

I follow a few black content creators that spew this rhetoric. And even though I always disagreed with it, I’m starting to understand why they say this.

I was wrong.

When you’re a black girl like me that decides to hop on SJW Twitter every three seconds, you’ll get radicalized and galvanized. You’ll get radicalized so much that you feel as if the world is racist, homophobic, transphobic, sexist, etc.

Heck, you’d think that Jim Crow segregation, The Holocaust, and worldwide domestic violence is happening all at once.

You bite off more social justice than you can chew and it starts to overload your brain, causing you to think that the world is against you.

Let me explain.

Should minorities blame all of our problems on society?

It depends on the problem.

If we’re talking about police brutality and mass incarceration, black people are at the brunt of that…

--

--

Khadejah
ILLUMINATION

I write about life lessons, writing, social justice, and productivity. New articles published weekly. Follow me on Twitter :https://twitter.com/KhadejahJ22