Should Social Media Be A Part of Your Authorpreneur Strategy?

Or should you dismiss it as a time-wasting trap?

Neera Mahajan
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMar 22, 2021

--

Photo by Merakist on Unsplash

The year was 2012, and I was en route to Vietnam with my family when I opened a Facebook account to share holiday photos. I hardly posted any.

Transferring photos to a computer and then to Facebook was too tedious. My Facebook account stayed dormant for six years.

Big mistake!

2012 was the golden year when it was possible to build a large fan base on Facebook organically. Many savvy entrepreneurs took advantage of it and grew a big following, taking advantage of the Facebook algorithm.

I came back to Facebook when I started a blog in 2018 and linked it to my Facebook account. My articles automatically got posted on Facebook. But I still never went on it to check if anyone was commenting on them.

My eyes opened to the power of social media at the start of this year, when I started publishing a small article and a sketch on Facebook, Instagram, or LinkedIn every day.

Suddenly my follower number started growing quickly, and I realized I have a powerful tool in hand which I don’t even know how to use properly.

What kind of social media user are you?

--

--

Neera Mahajan
ILLUMINATION

Author of Dare To Create, Eight Steps To Be An Authorpreneur, and How To Write an eBook In One Week | Write Your Book with me in 30 days.