February Love | Day 12

Showing Yourself Love All Year

February isn’t just for romance and heart health.

Nancy Oglesby
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readFeb 12, 2023

--

created in Canva Pro

Heart health and Cupid pretty much wrapped up February, but loving yourself is more than romance, diet, exercise, or medication.

To answer Keeley’s question about how I show myself love, I’m going to focus on things that warm my heart. Earlier this month, she asked us to answer the question, “What are 50 things you love?” so much of what fills me up made that list, but there’s more!

I give myself mornings!

My favorites are weekends when there aren’t any appointments that day, no commitments, no woulda, coulda, shoulda’s,

just absolute, endless me-time.

I’ll grab a Nora Roberts romance, a cup of coffee heavily laced with cream, (don’t tell the cardiologists), turn on the fire, and of course, settle the pups right next to me on the throw.

Focusing on the positive.

I’ve lost some of my people. I love myself by focusing on the gifts I received by having kind, funny, generous, silly, creative, gentle, brilliant, loving, and precious people gifted to me by the Universe. I have truly been blessed for having had them in my life.

--

--

Nancy Oglesby
ILLUMINATION

I explore life and tell stories! Embracing the world of Drabbles. Publisher of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and Another Fucking Publication