Six Lessons I Never Expected to Learn After Adopting A Stray Cat

Sometimes teachers show up in the most unexpected of ways

Andy Murphy
ILLUMINATION

--

Our little lion on his first morning with us

Being a cat Dad was never high on my priority list.

I never understood why ancient Egyptians held them in such high regard and it baffled me to know that cat videos are some of the most viral videos on the internet.

The feelings have been mutual too.

Until a few weeks ago, me and cats never saw eye to eye.

Maybe they sensed I grew up with the unconditional love of a dog and held it against me. Who knows.

But then our little lion friend (pictured above) crawled into our home and everything changed.

He’s been with us just over a week now.

Here are six lessons I never expected to learn from a stray cat.

1. Teachers can show up in the most unexpected of ways

Osho once said:

“No man can be a better teacher than a cat. The cat is relaxed and alert. If you relax, you go to sleep. The cat is alert even in her sleep, and the body is so flexible, so relaxed in every moment.”

--

--