Six Life Lessons I Learned From 6 Months of Living Alone

Good health is the prerequisite to achieving any dream.

Writer's Dream
ILLUMINATION
5 min readNov 11, 2022

--

Photo by name_ gravity on Unsplash

I run the household all by myself.

While growing up, I observed something in my family. Whoever did the daily household work did it extremely easily, even when it was not easy.

It was like everything fell into place perfectly. They did everything with love and care. As if they are taking care of their child.

I feel the same now.

While doing all the household work alongside my work, I have learned a few valuable lessons. I could not have accessed these learnings firsthand experiences.

Health creates wealth

I cannot do any work with broken health. Good food is good health. I have limited consumption of food from outside. If I give in to my greed, I fall sick. The result is I cannot work for a few days.

So, I have started cooking food at home. I have discovered many benefits of cooking.

  • I can learn my favorite dishes and cook. I don’t have to depend on somebody to cook for me.
  • Cooking improved my focus.

How to apply?
If you feel sick for any reason, try to find the cause. For example, if you have chronic headaches, try changing your lifestyle. I had a digestion problem earlier. So I experimented with cooking my food at home. If you have back pain, check your sitting posture.

After you find the cause, try to find a solution.

Be mindful of the digital content.

I have become aware of the digital content that I consume. I am mindful that I don’t watch or listen to anything in the digital medium that lowers my emotional health. If I feel sad, I have nobody who will cheer me up. So I have learned to avoid any content that creates a negative feeling.

  • I do not watch movies anymore. I write instead.
  • I read books that uplift me.
  • I learn new skills. Writing is one of them.
  • I have reduced the use of smartphones.

Research shows that the use of social media and unregulated consumption of digital content creates a negative impact on our lives.

  • It decreases overall satisfaction in life.
  • People lose patience due to instant gratification.
  • It increases anxiety and depression.
  • Attention span decreases.

How to apply?
We can set a fixed time of the day to check all our digital notifications. We need not use our phones right after waking up in the morning. Instead, the first 1–2 hours of the day can be used with meditation. You can have your list.

The idea is to do the most productive work when your energy level is high.

Get adequate sleep

Your sleep quality is critical for your success in life. If I don’t get uninterrupted sleep at night, I cannot focus on my work the following day.

This is a big life lesson I have learned.

Initially, I struggled to sleep at night. I was awake till midnight, and then I found it difficult to wake up early. The consequence experienced mood changes, irritability, and lack of focus the whole day.

I have started following a few lifestyle changes.

  • I don’t sleep during the afternoon.
  • I do some physical exercise daily.
  • I have included writing in my daily routine.
  • I take a warm bath before sleep.
  • I try to read a book before going to sleep.

When my body and mind are tired after the day, I face less difficulty falling asleep at night.

“We know that sleep is much more restorative of waking functions and health when it is consolidated and not fragmented.” says David F. Dinges, Ph.D., Professor and Chief of the Division of Sleep and Chronobiology in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine.

Studies conducted by Dr.Dinges suggest that sleep is required for waking cognition. It includes the below.

  • Ability to think clearly.
  • It helps us to be vigilant and improve attention.
  • It regulates our emotions.
  • Our working memory, speed, and accuracy improve with unfragmented sleep.
  • Sleep also helps to maintain our psychological well-being

How to apply?
We need to follow good sleep hygiene. We go to bed and wake up at the same time daily, even during the weekend. Our bedroom should be clean and dark. Try to avoid heavy meals before bedtime. The pillow and mattresses should be comfortable.

Trust your intuition

Your second brain knows all the answers you seek outside. When we live alone, we develop a strange relationship with everything and everybody around us.

We know when we may fall sick. When we cross the limit of over-eating, our new acquaintance may not be the best for us. These little voices were always there with us. When we have a support system with us, we ignore them.

When we live alone, our intuition becomes our best friend.

In a 2016 study, researchers proved the existence of intuition. They defined intuition as a tool that helps in successful life decisions without relying on analytical skills.

“I believe in intuitions and inspirations…I sometimes FEEL that I am right. I do not KNOW that I am.”
Albert Einstein

How to apply?
If you practice meditation, that’s good. Otherwise, you can add mindful meditation throughout your day. It brings you closer to your inner guide.

Have a hobby

I have developed many hobbies.

  • Painting
  • Threadwork
  • Graphics design
  • Writing

These are not just hobbies. These are tools to bring you closer to your inner guidance. We do these without expecting any return.

How to apply?
After you complete your work that pays the bill, try to do something that gives you joy. Indulge in some creative work that you do because you love it. Not because you expect any appreciation.

Below is the list you can try.

  • Fun painting
  • Doodling
  • Creative journalling
  • Embroidery
  • Baking
  • Learning Music

Express gratitude

It is the final lesson. But the most powerful.No matter how hard we feel our lives are, we are always more fortunate than somebody else in the world. We need to be grateful for that.

I express gratitude for the simple things in my life. It can be for simple things like the window curtain, the fragrance of my perfume, and the nature around me.

Gratitude brings positivity to our mindset. It then reflects in the work we do.

Researchers have concluded that gratitude has the following brain connections.

  • Enhances the happy hormones
  • Reduces stress and anxiety
  • Build new neural connections
  • Improves positive thinking

How can you apply?
You can try counting all your blessings for the day in a journal before bedtime. This way, we can sleep with a grateful mind.

Benefits of gratitude.
Photo by Pro Church Media on Unsplash

So far, these are the lessons I have learned. I am sure after six months; I will have a different set of life lessons.

--

--