Skipping Practice Is the Lazy Way to Learn Its Importance

Not intentional, but a conditional detour will give you enough regrets and lessons.

Sanjeev Yadav
ILLUMINATION
3 min readAug 7, 2020

--

Ever felt like coming back to an activity after a few days or weeks of break and felt energised? It is the exact break that we need to understand the importance of our daily efforts. It happened with my writing routine, which was already irregular in entire July.

The disturbance

I finally settled at my new place after lots of back n forth moving. I had to finish some formalities in the new and old homes.

Now I am planning a new schedule that’ll help me publish more than one article every day — the current target.

The comeback

I realised the beauty in writing after I came back to it after 72 hours of gap. Within these three days, I did nothing related to writing:

  • I didn’t read
  • I didn’t look for writing ideas
  • I stopped talking to people for ideas
  • I didn’t support any fellow writer

When I came back today after setting up my new place, the realisation came with a different energy. I don’t think of my inactivity as a mistake. It was an unfamiliar situation that took all my attention.

The learning experience from the inactive period

I felt like I was living the college vacation in college. I was sleeping anytime, eating only at hunger-pangs and watching Netflix all day. I finished 12 seasons of Big Bang Theory in 10 days.

BBT is the longest sitcom. After I was in the middle of it, I aimed to finish the entire series and then stop Netflix for a few days. So far, so good. In the past few days, I’ve learned a lot about conversations involving science. Science can be funny. If you are knowledgable, you can explain complex topics to a 5-year-old in a way that is understandable quickly.

My new aim is to use even simpler words in explaining my viewpoint to be useful and reachable. The goal is not to use fancy words to sound esoteric.

Takeaways

New situations will come in life, which will demand a lot of attention and may interfere with your daily schedule. The pointer to have in mind is to think it is natural and can happen to anyone.

These three days of the gap have shown how empty my day feels if I don’t write that day.

I almost gave up writing today also. But I read a message from a friend. He admits that he is terrible at writing, but he still blocked time to write for me. You live for these kinds of people who support you in your journey no matter what. I was looking for a push, and it came in the way I appreciate best — writing. It came rather late though because I was lying to him about my schedule. Let’s see how long the new routine lasts!

Now I am back with my writing schedule and the new thing this time is: I have an entire workstation in place. More organisation means more focus.

This blog belongs to a series of posts I am publishing on a daily streak. Today is day 129. The first two targets were day 21 and 100. The next goal is 150. Here is the first blog that started the streak.

Thank you for reading! See you tomorrow!

~ Sanjeev.

--

--

Sanjeev Yadav
ILLUMINATION

Writer • Mentor • Recovering Shopaholic • IITR 2019 • ✍🏼 Personal Growth, Positive Psychology & Lifelong Learning• IG & Threads: sanjeevai