Skydiving 101: A Beginner's Journey to the Sky

From Fear to Freedom: Soaring High in the Sky — My Skydiving Story

Somil Gupta
ILLUMINATION

--

That's me in the sky with my instructor.

Last year, I made an impromptu trip to Thailand. With a sole purpose in mind: to experience the thrill of skydiving. I had been drawn to the idea for quite some time, and this was the perfect moment to make it a reality.

I decided on Thailand because it has the cheapest skydiving centres in Asia. And with nothing planned, I reached the beautiful city of Pattaya, Thailand. All I knew was that this is where you can go skydiving.

A day before the scheduled jump, I couldn't help but feel a mix of excitement and nervousness, wondering if I might chicken out at the last minute.

Not gonna lie. I was nervous and downright scared.

Somehow, I convinced myself with a determined inner voice: "This is the time. You have to do it now, or you may never get this chance again. You can do it!"

My heart raced, and before I knew it, I was signing up for a tandem dive. And poof, I signed up. Now I knew for sure I was doing this; there's no going back now. Even when I was getting ready, my heart was pounding really fast. But with a sense of purpose, I got into my jumpsuit and wore the goggles to shield my eyes. As I…

--

--

Somil Gupta
ILLUMINATION

Tech guy on a journey as a travel storyteller, curating travel itineraries and sharing global insights on cultures, people, and history. 🌍