A POEM

Sleep

Adelia Ritchie, PhD
ILLUMINATION

--

Forêt Mystère, watercolor by author

Home on my napping sofa
after a long walk in the forest
sleep flows over me
like molten chocolate

warms my feet
covers my legs and torso
deliciousness seeps into every pore
calming, caressing, protecting.

I bask on a warm tropical beach
waves lap black volcanic sand
shore birds sing sweet nothings
into the wind.

A coconut drops, then rolls
leaves a soft crater
and crooked trail in the sand.

A land crab skitters by
his eyestalks aimed at me
warning me, not too close, not too close.

Warm, salt-fragrant air
infuses my lungs
intoxicates, sedates,
displaces cares and worries
lurking deep inside.

I drift away, safe
cradled in sleep’s warm embrace
and look forward
to whatever dreams may come.

--

--

Adelia Ritchie, PhD
ILLUMINATION

Author of "The Accidental Expat: A Costa Rican Adventure", science lover, contributing editor at SalishMagazine.org, expat, seeking the interesting and unusual