Sleep Regulation: Neurobiology of the Suprachiasmatic Nucleus

I explain how the brain regulates circadian rhythms and whether a literal “clock” exists within it in simple terms based on experience and research.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION

--

Non-members can read this important story for free via my friend link.

Image designed by the author using photos from Pexels and Wiki Commons

Sleep is the cornerstone of human and organismal well-being, highlighted in my previous health and cognitive function stories. Without sleep, rest, and downtime, the brain’s vitality wanes. Nonetheless, in our contemporary era, there is a trend where some people shun sleep, resorting to alertness aids in pursuit of heightened productivity. I have compassion for millions of people experience sleep deprivation as I also struggled with it causing severe health issues to me in my younger years.

Recently, I discussed vital biochemicals influencing sleep regulation and patterns, including cortisol, melatonin, and adenosine, while emphasizing the significance of biological rhythms like circadian rhythms. Following this discussion, subscribers intrigued by the hormonal aspects sought clarification on how the brain regulates these rhythms and whether a literal “clock” exists within it.

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com