Relationships / Psychology

How Your Smartphone Might Damage Your Romantic Relationship

And what digital visibility says about your relationship

Louis Petrik
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMar 24, 2021

--

smartphone consume in a love relationship
Photo by ROMAN ODINTSOV from Pexels

Put your mobile away when others are around — it’s rude otherwise.
That’s what my mother used to tell me.

She was right. Communicating with people who are using their smartphones is awkward. The tiny devices have found their way into our relationships; after all, we spend day and night with our partners & our mobiles.

How does a smartphone affect your relationship?
What does your digital life reveal about the quality of your relationship?
Here are possible answers.

The digital visibility of your relationship says a lot

Sometimes, I play a nasty game: betting on how long people’s relationships will last.

The most important indicator for me: how visible the relationship is on Instagram, Facebook, and Snapchat.

I know I look like an asshole now, but this game showed me something important. Let me explain.

What would it mean to you if your partner posted pictures with you?
When your significant…

--

--

Louis Petrik
ILLUMINATION

JavaScript & Python. Figuring out life, one idea at a time. Unlimited reads: https://medium.com/@louispetrik/membership