Practice Kindness: 3 Things You Can Do Today To Help Your Fellow Man

Small acts, make big changes from a smile to blessing bags we can all do better

GFC: Grown Folk Conversations
Curated Newsletters

--

Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

Updated: April 2, 2023

Spring is here and I’m embracing an attitude of gratitude and kindness! A lot of people are under pressure and stretched thin at work and home. I’ve compiled a list of three little things you can do today to help others and lift your spirits. These tips are little gifts that were given to me over the years. Kindness is contagious! My family practices them and now I’m passing it on. You’ll be surprised at how such a small act of kindness can make a big impact on someone’s life! Try to start each day with a smile and being grateful for 3 things and then:

1. Put $5 On It — Or Let Them Pass & Pay

I know a lot of people don’t carry cash, but I keep $5 on me in case someone is struggling at the checkout counter. Most recently, if someone has 1 or 2 items I let the person scan their items and add them to my bill. I overheard a woman calling to check on her mother. She said she had just got off work (at 9:00 pm) and her feet and back were hurting. I told her to go in front of me. When she scanned her items, I told her she could leave, I would pay for them. It was only 2 things. She…

--

--

GFC: Grown Folk Conversations
Curated Newsletters

We observe life through the lens of experience and intersectionality. We reflect, share, and welcome dialogue. Let the laughter, learning & healing begin!