Smile

Michael Thorn
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readFeb 8, 2024

--

a poem

Self-portrait (2008) by author

SMILE

I woke up with a smile this morning.
I gave it away.
And still the smile remained.

This smile is impertinent.
Even though I have a diary filled with meetings and commitments
It will not settle into a deadpan
Face-off with the day.

It moistens my eyes
With cheek and mischief
Creases my temples
With laughlines.

Go, smile! Be on your way!

Take off round the world.
Find a man even older than me,
Shuffling head down
Beneath dripping autumn branches.
Bring a spring to his step.
Send leaves flying
With every kick of his foot.
Make his back supple
So he can bend and gather
Armfuls of gold and yellow
And hand them to a woman
Sitting stiff and thoughtful
Beside her window.

Smile on her, smile.
Go! And do your work
Abroad,
Away from here.

--

--