Snapchat’s AI-powered chatbot, My AI, is now available to all users!

Trustful Design
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readApr 23, 2023

Snapchat’s 750 million monthly users are getting ready to meet My AI.

In February, My AI, which uses OpenAI’s GPT technology, was made available for Snapchat+ users, Snapchat’s paid subscription service. But Snap has now opened My AI to all its users.

My AI is also becoming an integral part of Snapchat. Users will be able to include My AI in group chats using the @ sign. Likewise, users will be able to change their bot’s name and appearance using a Bitmoji avatar.

Snapchat, snap, my ai
Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

In addition to these innovations, My AI will be able to suggest AR filters to users. The suggested AR filters will cover both the camera and the map tab. In addition to these, Snap will soon allow users to visually message with My AI and receive productive responses. Finally, Snap sharing with My AI is among the new features offered to Snapchat+ users.

Snap CEO Evan Spiegel has previously stated that the company is exploring ways to integrate AI tools into Lens Studio for augmented reality developers. My AI’s suggestion of AR filters can be seen as the beginning of this step.

According to Evan Spiegel, 2 million conversations take place daily with My AI. Spiegel describes Snap’s relationship with OpenAI as a close partnership. It is possible to say that My AI and this partnership are important for the future of Snap, which has been facing growth challenges for a while. The company can use My AI interactions in ad targeting.

On the other hand, it is worth remembering that My AI has come up with security problems. Some examples shared by The Center for Humane Technology reveal the need for moderation on My AI.

Screenshot of tweet

Despite these examples, Evan Spiegel says that the vast majority of interactions with My AI are positive. According to Spiegel, 99.5 percent of My AI responses comply with Snap’s community guidelines.

--

--