So I Guess I’m a Freelance Writer Now?

Amy Killingbeck
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJul 1, 2020

--

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

I’ve always had a passion for writing.

When I was younger, I used to sit on the swing outside for hours and makeup stories in my head that I was going to write down once I was back inside.

I wrote in my diary every day and produced a very amateur written magazine at the age of seven, to raise money for the local animal shelter.

So it was no surprise that as I made my way through school and into college, I decided that I quite fancied studying journalism.

I took up English at A-Level but soon realised that it wasn’t my best subject. I was excelling in Law, Sociology and Media Studies, but my English grades weren’t quite up to the same standard, so I made the difficult decision to drop it.

The technicalities were killing my writing, and so I stopped completely. There’s nothing like stringent grammar rules to kill your creativity and joy for a particular subject.

I ended up going on to study Law at University, which was still heavily full of writing, but just in a different manner. I became analytical and adept at forming strong arguments, which was just as well, as that’s what the law is all about.

But there was always something missing.

Finding my flow

--

--

Amy Killingbeck
ILLUMINATION

Copywriter, ghostwriter, procrastinator, and lover of cats. Avid traveller. Future best-selling novelist🤞 Find me at www.killercopy.co.uk