So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

Cyber Safety Guy
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 11, 2023
Hitchhikers Guide To the Galaxy reference

Today was the day the final straw arrived to break my back. In the early hours, the images following started on a LinkedIn petition update thread and followed on into this morning in my DMs after my reply on the thread.

The individual concerned works within cyber and is not a stupid person. One of my first interactions with them was when I was doing the job that finally destroyed my mind, he was a reservist army officer in cyber whose priority was to tell me off for sideburns that were slightly too long. After that, I was always polite to him but had other things to deal with so never really bothered much with him.

My point is he isn’t some unknown troll like the others who have tried to piss on this campaign so I had a proper think about things this morning and realised the futility was real.

Resistance is indeed futile

Since 2012 I think I have given enough of myself both physically and mentally to the war against child abusers, groomers and distributors of paedophilia. I continued to harm myself by creating content that I hoped would be helping others protect children, even though the uptake was minimal and feedback sporadic, deep down I imagined it might be helping somebody somewhere.

I thought that the next obvious step was to ensure that the very best available education was in place for ALL children at ALL schools, I knew there was a risk to me that if it didn’t succeed it would destroy me.

I thought I would be able to go the entire 6 months of the petition and find out if the world really did give a shit or not, but the lack of media support and the continued trolling have proven to be too much and now I need to take the advice of those closest to me and realise I have given enough of myself to this and now is the time to bow out.

I was never in this for awards, popularity or money and I hope I was able to affect at least a few people positively.

In the past when I left my other social media platforms before deletion I would give it a week so that anybody who needed to stay in touch could reach out and I will do the same here.

My blog and YouTube channel will be mothballed but remain online in case the information there is actually of any use to somebody.

To the 739 who cared about the petition thank you and to the rest thank you for confirming the shit thoughts in my head about the human race.

For the last time, be vigilant, take care of each other and be kind.

Much love

T-minus 7 days and counting

#Endex #ImDone #MissionFailed

For the last time take care of each other and be kind.

--

--

Cyber Safety Guy
ILLUMINATION

I served 22 years in the Royal Air Force Police as a DFIR analyst and was involved in the investgation of criminal imagery hence my passion for child safety.