So When Will The Revolution Start?

Centuries ago, people would have started a revolution by now.

Rebecca Stevens
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Joseph Chan on Unsplash

I caught up with an old friend this morning. You know the type that you don’t see in years and when you do reconnect, it’s as though you saw each other just yesterday? Well yes, that type of friend.

He asked what I thought of the current state of the world. It took me a while to respond because of the sheer craziness of stuff happening in the world right now. Sometimes I wonder if I am living in reality or in some type of a dystopian nightmare.

A Trump dynasty seems to be in the works

I mean think about it: for starters, let’s look at the surreal nature of the recent US Republican National Convention. What sticks out most is that picture of the Trump family all up there on stage. Tell me folks: when did America become a monarchy? Wasn’t the whole purpose behind the creation of the US, the fierce determination of freedom fighters for independence and liberation from the drudgery and authoritarianism of the English monarchy?

Wasn’t that the whole point of it’s all? So how come we’ve come full circle to what seems to be becoming a modern-day monarchy? Will my grandchildren learn about the ins and outs of the Trump dynasty in school? I hear Eric Trump is next…

--

--

Rebecca Stevens
ILLUMINATION

I write about racism, but there are so many other things I would like to write about instead. Help me dismantle racism so that I can get to that.